Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Once Upon a Time in America (Jan 14)

On this day in history in 1784 the Treaty of Paris was approved by the Congress of the Confederation.

This treaty formally ended the War of Independence between the colonies and Great Britain.

It was signed by John Adams, Ben Franklin, and John Jay (representing the colonies) and David Hartley (representing King George III of Great Britain).

There were 10 key points to the treaty:
  1. Recognition of the 13 colonies to be free, sovereign and independent don't these all mean the same?
  2. Establishment of boundaries between the United States and British North America.
  3. Granting of fishing rights in the Grand Banks, off the coast of Newfoundland and the Gulf of St Lawrence.
  4. Recognition of lawful debts between creditors on either side.
  5. Recognition of rightful owners of all confiscated lands.
  6. Prevention of confiscation of the property of Loyalists.
  7. Release of prisoners of war on each side.
  8. Perpetual access to the Mississippi River to both sides.
  9. Return of territories captured by Americans without compensation.
  10. Ratification to begin 6 months from the signing.

No comments:

Post a Comment