Friday, January 23, 2009

Once Upon a Time in America (Jan 23)

On this day in American history in 1986 the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inducted its first members.

The Hall of Fame holds an annual induction ceremony in New York City. This year (2009) the induction ceremony will be held at the Hall of Fame itself in Cleveland, Ohio.

Those first inductees were:
  • Chuck Berry
  • James Brown
  • Sam Cooke
  • Fats Domino
  • The Everly Brothers
  • Buddy Holly
  • Jerry Lee Lewis
  • Little Richard
  • Elvis Presley
The qualifications for induction are that the artist must have released their first album 25 years prior to induction and must be an influence within rock and roll.

This year's inductees (for those who are interested) are:
  • Jeff Beck
  • Little Anthony and the Imperials
  • Metallica (holy cow! has it been 25 years since Kill Em All?!?!?)
  • Run DMC
  • Booby Womack
  • Wanda Jackson
  • Bill Black
  • D.J. Fontana
  • Spooner Oldham

No comments:

Post a Comment