Friday, July 17, 2009

Wayne Glover and Term Limits

Here is what Mr. Wayne Glover (Republican candidate for U.S. Senator from Washington State in 2010) proposes in regards to term limits for our Senators and U.S. Representatives.

This information can be found at his campaign website, Real Change 2010.

U.S. Representatives

Change the 2 year terms to 4 year terms and limit them to 3 terms (12 years).

U.S. Senate

Limit them to 2 - 6 year terms (12 years).

In each case, is a person is appointed to finish another's term, that remaining time will be counted as one term.
Also, if a politician has served at least one term in either the House or the Senate, then that person can only serve one term in the other.

According to Wayne,
"This would eliminate professional politicians and would return the government back to the people."
I totally agree. Make those career politicans go out and find real jobs!

The Presidency has term limits. Governors have term limits. Why not Congress?

Currently, Senator Robert Byrd (D-WV) has served in the Senate for 48 years. 48 years?!? That is almost half a century! How has this man been allowed to stay in the Senate this long? It is time to retire old man!

In the House, the longest-serving member is John Dingell (D-MI). He began his career in the U.S. House of Representatives in 1955. What?!? Over 50 years? And the people of Michigan keep voting him back in? What are they stupid?

Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) began her service in the Senate in 1992. 17 years? Yup, that's long enough. Time for you to go.

Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA) began her service in Congress as a U.S. Representative in 1992 and became a U.S. Senator in the election of 2000. 17 years for her too.

Another 17 year veteran from the State of Washington is Jay Inslee, who began his national political career in 1992. However, he was defeated for re-election in 1994, ran for governor (and was defeated) in 1996 and was re-elected to the U.S. House again in 1998.

Senator James Inhofe (R-OK) began his stint in Congress as a U.S. Representative in 1986. After Senator David Boren resigned as Senator, Inhofe was elected in 1994.

The junior Senator from Oklahoma, Republican Tom Coburn, began his career in Congress as a U.S. Representative in 1994. He ran for Senate in 2004 when the seat of Don Nickles was vacated, winning that election by a margin of 53%.

So I will let you do your own thinking from here. Do you really want these people to remain as professional politicians?

Visit the U.S. Term Limits website and sign the Term Limits Petition.

1 comment:

  1. Before we throw all the bums out... people might wanna also consider what bums they would be letting (or keeping) in power.

    Just a thought, not all the bums are up for re-election and right now we are a one-bum-party system.